My European solidarity corps program

Hello, it is Mohamed! As my program has come to an end, I just wanted to write my view of it, I would start by simply describing it as an eye-opening experience, but I will elaborate more on that so bear with me hahah!

I have always thought of learning more about different kinds of education, learning about education in Europe in general as it is no secret that European countries have gone so far in that, living in a whole new and different community from mine and seeing how I can manage and be in that…kind of pushing myself out of my comfort zone to do more and experience more, and discovering different environments and cultures.

I consider my time here fruitful because the way I see it, I achieved these goals mentioned above, moreover, I got to make new friends from all over the world and I do not see myself now as that stranger living in Poland as the people at my school really made it feel like being with my family, the support and help I got from the association too, especially Monika – my program coordinator and the best coordinator that a volunteer could ask for, she was and still the most helpful person for us in Poland – all of the new friends that our roads crossed in Poland and some left while others stayed. All of this made unforgettable memories that I will always cherish.

The amazing students at the school whom I became their student on many occasions while teaching them, they also taught me, the fun we had, cooking together, playing together, losing in chess to one of my smartest students…I got to laugh a lot at this because I do not really often lose in chess but those students were really amazing!

My flatmates with whom we shared many moments, situations, parties, and trips, and that life would’ve been incredibly hard if they hadn’t been there so I am thankful for them and for our time together.

The great people whom I met during my training in Slovenia, the amazing situations and traveling experience together, our long walks and discussions about life, philosophy, politics, and the future.

And now as I am preparing for my new adventure and the next chapter of my life I feel really content and happy about my time with each and everyone from my people in Europe and I want to tell them that it has been a pleasure and we shall be in touch.

Now, I just want to say that the people I met and the connections we had, they are really the highlight of my time here and I am glad that I got the opportunity to participate in such an amazing program. I truly believe that making those friendships are my real success story here…so keep it up and we shall meet again, mates!

Mohamed from Egypt, a volunteer in Wolna Szkola Ursynów.

This project is co-funded by the European solidarity corps.

#EuropeanSolidarityCorps

#activewomenassosiation

Author: European Volunteers in Poland

A blog curated by volunteers taking part in European Solidarity Corps initiative in Poland and coordinated by Active Woman Association

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started