It’s time to say goodbye

It’s crazy how time has passed so fast. Almost 11 months ago, I packed my things to move to a small Polish city with Ari. I was so excited and nervous at the same time. Everything was new: new country, new home, new flatmates, new school, new language… Adaptation was not an easy process, but after so many months, it’s hard to have to say goodbye.

Thank you Wolno Mi, for hosting me the way you did. Before coming to Poland, I did not know what a democratic school was. In the beginning, I was so surprised when I was seeing kids climbing trees, talking about what they wanted to do, or playing around the school (which is literally a house). But after all these months, I found my place in this beautiful community and learned a lot from the other mentors and the kids. I know I am going to miss you.

Thank you, Ari, for joining me on this crazy journey and being the best partner I could have asked for. You made me feel like home and the second half of the project was not the same without you.

Thank you, Ester, for being my main support in this cold country. Thank you for the trips, for hosting me in Warsaw almost every weekend, for the talks, for the hugs, and for being the most amazing friend.

Thank you, Anna, for being an amazing flatmate. Thank you for the bike rides, for the almost running back home from school, for the trips, for the dinners, and for your craziness, you made my days better.

Thank you to all the other volunteers, for being the greatest companions for this adventure. Thank you to most of you for opening the doors of your schools, it was an amazing experience to be able to visit you. I hope we meet again somewhere in the world.

And thank you, Monika, for being the best coordinator we could have had. You have always been there for us, and I am sure I will miss your energy and sense of humour. Gracias!

Overall, it was an incredible journey, with ups and downs, but full of learning and good company. This experience has opened the doors of the exciting world of democratic education, and this adventure has been just the start of what I hope it will be an exciting trip.

Alba from Catalunya, volunteer in Wolno Mi in Gliwice

This project is co-founded by European Solidarity Corps

#EurpeanSolidarityCorps #ActiveWomanAssociation

Author: European Volunteers in Poland

A blog curated by volunteers taking part in European Solidarity Corps initiative in Poland and coordinated by Active Woman Association

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started